Distance between two columns

Hi all,

I'm totally new to KNIME, please excuse me if the question is too silly but I've been unable to come up with a solution for this...

I have a table with two columns, each one containing n-dimensional vectors expressed as a collection of doubles. Is there any node capable to insert a third column into the table, containing the euclidean distance between the two vectors at each row?

Best regards, and thank you for your help,

--

Jorge

I think your best bet is to use a Java Snippet.  The collections will be treated as arrays:

double[] vec0= ; //Insert your first column reference here
double[] vec1= ; //Insert your second column reference here

double dist=0;
for(int i=0; i<3; i++){
    double delta=vec0[i] - vec1[i];
    dist += delta * delta;
}

c_distance = Math.sqrt(dist); //Add a result column via the dialog, and then add the expression after '=' to whatever the result item added at the end is

You can insert the references to you collection columns by putting the cursor immediately before the ';' on the top two lines and double-clicking the column name in the list of columns on the top left of the dialog.

You need to go to the bottom panel of the dialog to add a result column, which should then add something like 'c_distance =' (depending on what you called the column!) - and then complete that line as shown

Steve

Excellent, got it, many thanks for your time Steve!

Regards,

--

Jorge

I have a related question. I want to calculate the Levenshtein Distance between pairs of strings in two columns. That is, a separate calculation for the pair of values in each row. I can achieve this with the Distance Matrix followed by a messy workaround, but I really want to calculate just the distances for the specific pairs of strings and append the distance in a third column.