Download image URLs and save them as both jepeg/png file and also as a Knime Node

Hi,

I am new to knime. I have a JSON file that contains URLs. I turned JSON into a table and ungrouped it to have all URLs in one column. Next, I used the Get node to download the images, but the get results appeared as a new column with the image pixle values. Is there any way to store images as both image files (JPEG or PNG) on my laptop and also store them as nodes to later feed them to a machine learning algorithm? I need to have separate folders for the URLs based on the unique lat and lng values. Meaning that for each unique lat and lng values, a folder needs to be created and downloaded with all urls and save the related images in that folder. Also, save it as a node to be later use inside the workflow.
Below, is the sample of data and workflow.
Mapillary Image Collection.knwf.knwf.knwf (13.2 KB)
image_id_list_without_property_Drinking Places (Alcoholic Beverages).json (1.7 MB)

Hi @NeginZarbakhsh , I’ll do a quick answer on the first part regarding images, since I have some experience dealing with images from GetRequest.

It seems that your URL isn’t complete, since you need to add the image format at the end. In your case, you should add “.jpeg” without the quotation marks.

Instead of using the GetRequest Node, you should use the ImageReader (Table) Node instead. You’ll end up with a column of the JPEG images.

Since you mentioned you also want PNG, you can then use the Renderer to Image Node right after the ImageReader (Table) Node.

From your sample data, here’s what you’ll get:

Where the left column is JPG and the right is PNG.

Lastly, to store them in your desktop, you can try the Image Writer Node.

I can see that @ArjenEX is typing, so you’re in good hands. I don’t attach my workflow here cause I’m simply relaying the concepts (and I just wanna do a quick writeup and go). I’m sure your solution will lie on what @ArjenEX will share after this post of mine :smile: