Ensuring a date filed is on or before the beginning of the current week based on the current date

Hi Everyone,

This is my first post on the community so I hope I do this right as I know all software communities are different. So i’m essentially making the effort to learn Knime as I have a lot of experience with Alteryx and want to try converting some of my Altyerx flows to Knime.

So my question is I have data ranging from Jan 1 2023 to Today and I have this conditional filter I made in Alteryx like so:
[EntryDate] >= “2024-01-01” AND
[EntryDate] <= ToDate(
DateTimeAdd(DateTimeToday(),
-(ToNumber(
DateTimeFormat(
DateTimeToday(),‘%u’))-1),
‘day’))

What it does is basically ensure that the [EntryDate] is on or before the beginning of the current week (Monday) based on the current date. But for the life of me I cant figure out how to do this in Knime at all.

Any help would be much appreciated just to keep the ball rolling. Thank you in advance

Hi @Deano478 , welcome to the KNIME community.

It is fair to say that the Column Expressions date calculation functions are a little confusing, but to find the first day of the current week, you can use the following expression:

getDayOfWeek() returns 1=Sun, 2=Mon… 7=Sat. It would have been easier if Mon=0 through to Sun=6. So we need to calculate the offset for the current day from our required first day of the week.

For first day of week being Monday:

// need to handle sunday differently to the other days..
offset=getDayOfWeek(today())==1?-6: -1 * (getDayOfWeek(today())-2)

// So...  Sun=-6, Mon=0, Tue=-1, Wed=-2, Thu=-3, Fri=-4, Sat=-5

For first day of week being Sunday:

offset=-1 * (getDayOfWeek(today())-1)
// So...  Sun=0, Mon=-1, Tue=-2, Wed=-3, Thu=-4, Fri=-5, Sat=-6

we can then calculate the first day of the week using this offset:

firstDayOfWeek=plusTemporal(today(),periodOfDays(offset))

Assuming the “Monday” variant, you could then use this kind of construct:

// for Monday as first day of week: