Entity and event extraction from pdf

Hi,

I am new to NLP and KNIME text processing feature. My current project requires me to perform information extraction from raw text file. Specifically I need to identify and extract entities , dates and the relationship between entities from unstructured text. I have been able to read in the data using pdf parser node followed by open nlp tagger to tag the document. It would be great if somebody could guide me with the relevant nodes to perform the aforementioned task.

Thanks.

Hi,

using the Tika Parser node is the better option to read PDF files. For plain text files youc an also use the Text File Parser.

Named entity recognition can be done by NER tagger nodes. The textprocessing extension e.g. bundles some of the Stanford NER tagger models. Relationships can not be extracted with a dedicated tagger node. You would need to do this by creating your own workflow. E.g. you could extract all NER in a sentence and the verb in the sentence. Parts of speech can be tagged using the Stanford Tagger node.

I hope this helps.

Cheers, Kilian

Thank you for the suggestion.

Just a small query, is it possible to read a PDF file, page wise, using Tika parser. I happened to install it and I also read in a PDF file, however I was not able to locate any option or feature which suggested page number of that PDF file. 

Thanks.

Hi,

the TIKA nodes read the whole PDF. It is not possible to read page wise. Also all formatting information of the PDF will get lost during parsing.

Cheers, Kilian

Hi,