ERROR FindLicenseServersJob - Cannot check for licenses on server

I am an absolute beginner on Knime. I have installed Knime on my Mac. I am trying to learn how to create a REST API for a workflow, so using the Rest_API_sentiment_Prediction example. The example seems to execute (green light for all nodes), but I cant seem to be able to access the web server for the API in my browser when I try to load http://localhost:8080/knime/rest. I get the below message in the console log. Any tips on how to get it to work, so I can call the rest api via a browser/postman?

*** Welcome to KNIME Analytics Platform v4.3.1.v202101261633 ***
*** Copyright by KNIME AG, Zurich, Switzerland ***

Log file is located at: /Users/ash/knime-workspace/.metadata/knime/knime.log
ERROR FindLicenseServersJob Cannot check for licenses on server 'http://localhost:8080/knime/rest: Connection refused (Connection refused)
WARN MoePreferencePage Path to MOE not set in Preferences. Please check!

Hi @asheesh

Welcome to the KNIME community forum!

A silly question, do you have a KNIME Server installation?

Having a workflow as a REST service is only available through the KNIME Server which is a commercial product.

Best,
Temesgen

I realised my folly last night, the server is not part of the Knime desktop installation.

Anyway, I created a Knime account and tried to deploy an Rest API example to the Knime Hub. It seems to deploy to the Hub, but I am not sure how to access it via Postman, I don’t seem to get the option to ‘Show api definition’ when I right click the workflow in the explorer panel (KNIME Server REST API - YouTube).

Any help would be much appriciated.

You still need a proper KNIME Server to deploy your workflow as a REST service. With the KNIME Hub you have the ability to store/share/collaborate on workflows, but not to execute workflows.

Hope this helps,
Temesgen