EXCEL AND CSV EXPORT NODE FAIL - WRITE NODES DO NOT WORK

Hello, I have a lot of experience using drag and drop platforms and was used to using IBM’s SPSS Modeler for many years. Recently I got to know KNIME and everything was fine until I tried to export my analyses to Excel or CSV files. I don’t know what happens, but always get an error. I’ve already created a new Workspace, I’ve just tried removing the missing values, but nothing solves this problem. I’ve built a workflow with almost 600K records and I can’t export it. Please help me with this. I’ve read several messages here on the forums, but I’ve had no success in solving this problem. The error messages are always something like “Illegal char : > at index 54…”. This number at the end of the message always changes and all attempts fail, no matter what configuration changes are made.

I did a test with the Excel Write node right at the beginning of the workflow and noticed that the export worked. I’ve been connecting the export node at each step and saw that the error happens right after a concatenate node. I don’t know what happens after the files are joined, but exporting is not possible from this point forward. My suspicion is that there is some bug with the base concatenation node, because when there are incompatible columns the values are filled with “?”.
Even using the Missing Value node for correction the export gives error.

Hi @dgentil and welcome to the forum.

The error message in your workflow means that KNIME is trying to write to a malformed path. If you look closely at the the error, you can see that it starts with
C:\Users\Daniel... and later on contains F:\KNIME\... - like 2 different paths joined together. This happens because you’ve chosen to write relative to the current workflow in the options above, but what you really want to do is write to the Local File System instead:

2023-11-01 10_28_53

3 Likes