Export table data to SQL file

Hello there everyone! This is my first topic here on KNIME Forum!
So i’m a student and i have a doubt: is it possible to get the data i have on KNIME and export it to a .sql file?

Thank you!

2 Likes

Hello @skullbeast420,

welcome to KNIME Community and KNIME itself!

Why do you want data exported to .sql file? Isn’t those files for sql and not data? Usually users export data to Excel or CSV files. You can also write data into database if that is what you are looking for.

Br,
Ivan

1 Like

Hello @ipazin and thank you for anwsering and for welcoming me!
Here’s the thing: i am working on a project to school and my teacher said it would be interesting to export data into a .sql file. Do you know any way to do so?

Hi @skullbeast420,

not really. Maybe you should check with your teacher what he meant with export data to .sql file?

Br,
Ivan

1 Like

I would love to, but he’s that kind of teacher that replies to an email every week xD thanks anyway :smiley:

1 Like

This is just a guess, but maybe he means a SQLite file, which is a static file while still somehow sort of being a database :smile:

We use SQLite files in some of our courses because they are easy to use in simple examples. Here’s a workflow that show how you might write one using DB nodes:

3 Likes

@skullbeast420 .sql would typically refer to a MySQL (or MariaDB) dump of a database to backup or transfer it. A quick google research found no R or Python tool (you might be able to use in KNIME) to create such a dump without the databases themselves.

The good news is MySQL, as well as MariaDB, are free and KNIME should offer a Connector (for the later there seems to be a debate going on).

It might be possible to trigger such a backup from within KNIME (maybe with the help of a R or Python snippet with a MySQL driver).

For educational purposes, I created a workflow to do it the other way round to import a mysql dump into KNIME (or H2 database) without the database itself