Extract data in an h5 file to a KNIME table

Hi,

I got some data from single-cell transcriptomics in an h5 file. I want to have a look at the raw data and analyze it in KNIME. However, I am struggling to extract the data from the file and place it in a table in KNIME. Does anyone know how to do this? Perhaps some examples to follow will be amazing.

Thanks in Advance.

AG

I would use a python script node and use
h5py library to open it
maybe you can try that
br

1 Like

Hi,

Thanks for the idea. My problem is that I don’t know the code to export this document to the table format. That is why I was asking for some sort of example.

Hi @VAGR_ISK , I’ve never worked with H5 files before, but looking at old form threads, somehow this node is involved. Not sure if that applies to your case. (I’ve never worked with this node too so I don’t know anything about it).

Other than that, from a little bit of Googling, there are ways to convert H5 files to CSV. Maybe if you can find a way to do it, then you may read the CSV file in KNIME.

I’ve created a component (here) as an example, based upon an h5 file (molecule_info) I found here. I hope this is representative of your use-case.

The component includes the following nodes:

• A configuration node to select the h5 file.
  • A Conda Environment Propagation tool to ensure the required Python packages are available (in this case Pandas and h5py)
  • Python Script (Labs) node - which contains the Python code to read the file.

Details for the h5py package, with examples on reading hdf5 files is here.

The Python code is as follows, it should be well enough commented to follow what is going on. The hardest part is getting the data types stored in the hdf5 file into a data type that KNIME understands - in both cases I converted unsigned-ints and bytes to strings.