Extract pixel values from pictures

Hey there Knime community,

First things first, I’m a very bloody beginner at Knime, so I apologize if my question is trivial to most of you.

I’m a student and i have this assignment where I have to take scans of breast cancer and identify the cancer cells through clustering.
I know the first steps i have to take are to:

• read the image
  • greyscale it
  • turn it into a csv file with the columns being x and y coordinates of the pixels and a numerical value for their color

This way i could visualize the pixel values in a scatter plot that will look like the respective image and then try to analyse it through clustering

The problem is, I don’t know what nodes to use or what kind of extensions i would need for this. Any help in the listed steps as well as ideas for the assignment in general would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you in advance.

Hi @Smegnigma!

no need to apologize! Image processing is not trivial at all.

We had a blog post last year showing an example of how to predict cancer types based on histopathology slices:
https://www.knime.com/blog/using-the-new-knime-deep-learning-keras-integration-to-predict-cancer-type-from-histopathology
The workflows described there can be downloaded from the KNIME Hub here.
Maybe this helps already a bit to start.

Best,
Martyna

3 Likes

I’ll add a little more here,

To the best of my knowledge there is no dedicated node for converting an image to greyscale, but you can apply a custom calculation to do so.

First you would need to split the image into it’s 3 color channels:

Then combine your channels with some math expression:

Finally to get a table you’ll want to play with the:

Here’s an example with the KNIME logo:

Here’s an example workflow that also converts the image to a table:

7 Likes

Hey Corey,

thank you very much for your input, this really helps.
Is there a way to turn the ouput table into another table which has 3 columns: