Fill Cells if neighboring cell contains value

Hello there!
I am quite new to KNIME and I am lookin to a solution to my task:

I have a table with product data, such as length, width, weight (as numbers) … each row is a product record.
however products are not complete, so values may be filled or not.

I need to add a column for each value column with the unit of that value; but the unit must only be filled, when there is a value for that column. No value, not unit, that is.

length         length-unit      weight           weight-unit
123.45.        MILLIMETER       17.54            KILOGRAM
?              ?                 3.5             KILOGRAM
0.34.          MILLIMETER        ?               ?

Since I have dozens of these columns (and they are all different in respect to their completeness), I tried to solve this with a loop. But i just cannot get the rule engine or the string manipulation to work with the flow variable containing the respective column name. Although I have some basic understanding of code (not Java/-script), I don’t get to grips with the syntax.

I believe there must be a way to do that without java programming?
Thanks!

Hi @roberting , there are a few different ways to do this.

Can you should us what you have done so far? Can you share your workflow?

And also, do you have a mapping of which column should have which mapping? - I am assuming you have such mapping or rule since you attempted to do this via a loop.

1 Like

Hi @roberting

I don if I understood your question correctly, but I came up with this idea of a workflow
fill cells.knwf (46.0 KB)

I added a reference table and Rule Engine dictionary to do the mappings.

gr. Hans

2 Likes

Hi @roberting , I put something together, slightly different from @HansS 's:

I am also assuming that there might be other columns in your dataset, but only some of the columns need to have a corresponding -unit column, therefore I added an extra column called ID in my input data: