filter out the rows containing missing values?

Hallo,

I’m wondering how to split the rows in the two groups: with and without missing values? I’ve tried with the row splitter node, but it seems like that a predefined column is needed… Is there some way to find out the rows that contain missing values, without searching on defined column? Perhaps with Java snippet Row splitter? But I’m not good at programming…
Thanks.

Best Regards,
N.

Hi there!

Here is a funny solution:

• To get rows that are not containing any missing values use Missing Value node. Add all columns with option Remove Row*.
  • To get rows that have missing values use Extract Missing Value Cause with all columns included and option Filter rows without missing values checked.

I believe there is a better solution :slight_smile:

Br,
Ivan

4 Likes

Hi @Northern -

Here’s a simple workflow that uses the Rule-based Row Splitter node on a string input. Rows with missing values get routed to the top port, while everything else goes to the bottom port. The trick here is the use of the MISSING keyword before the variable in the rule expression.

RuleBasedRowSplitterExample.knwf (6.4 KB)

4 Likes

Seems there is indeed :slight_smile:

@ipazin - actually, I think @ScottF’s answer requires you to add a rule for each column, so your answer may actually be simpler for complex tables?

Steve

1 Like

Not so sure. In my case you need to delete columns from Extract Missing Value Cause node output… Here just add as many rules as columns and syntax is the same for each.

Thanks Scott. But in your case there’s only one column. Can I also with this node the rows with missing values filter when there’s many columns containing missing values?

1 Like

Hi Ivan,

Thanks for the tip. It works :wink: I need only add a “reference column filter” after using the “extract missing value cause” node, to make sure the columns are the same with the original data set.

Best Regards,
N.

3 Likes

I’m glad :slight_smile: