Find string and return N rows beneath it

Hi all - I’m very new to KNIME and I have what I think is an easy problem, but have been stumped with current solutions for over a week…

I have dozens of semi-unstructured google sheets as input, each with a cell containing the text “Plates” and then up to 12 cells underneath it with comma separated numbers. I have figured out how to loop over each sheet using flow variables.

Unfortunately the “Plates” text is in a different location in each sheet. I am able to use a Column Expressions node to find the text in an array (not sure that is the most efficient use), but then I’m stumped at how to retrieve values from rows beneath it.

e.g.

Plates

Ultimately, I’d like to output a new column with just the first number of each list, e.g.

FirstPlate

but I’d be happy with just learning how to retrieve 12 rows under my target text search. I can do the comma splitting later.

Thanks for any help anyone can provide!

1 Like

Hi @abiasella and welcome to the Knime Community.

Can you explain what’s above the cell that has the text “Plates”? Are they empty cells?

And also, what do you have after the “up to 12 cells underneath”? Do you have other values after these? And you say up to 12, meaning there could be 0 to 12 cells? What determine if it’s 1, or 2, or 12? Unless they’re the only cells after the text Plates, that is there are no other values after them…

In the mean time, you can check the Line Reader node, which allows you to read line by line. You could just go through each line and ignore them until you reach “Plates”, and then read the next N lines.

But I can’t come up with anything until I get the answers to my questions.

You could also share a few different examples of the sheets so we can see how the data looks like, and what the variations are.

3 Likes

Thanks for your reply. I will definitely check out the Line Reader when I get a chance.