Formatting Data Files

Hi,

I have several files that have added to one table. I am trying to reformat the table so I have all the headers in two rows at the top. The table has each tab below the other from a file and the subsequent files and tabs below including the headers from each tab. I want to first move all headers into just two rows at the top creating additional columns across for all sizes within the headers. Then I want to pivot the headers to Rows from columns and have the 1 and 0 values in columns to right of all the other rows. I have attached a sample file to show the table structure. I highlighted the headers rows and used red font o show that headers below are a different size below the first header even in the same column. I am fairly new to Knime and would appreciate some help if possible.

Knime Example V2.xlsx (36.2 KB)

Thanks.

Just following up to see if anyone had any suggestions or if there is a better to combine the files initially.

Thank you in advance.

Hi @KevinD1

I think the best way to approach this might be to do some unpivoting on each individual table BEFORE combining them all together. Since I wasn’t 100% sure what you’re aiming for, I took a stab at it in the workflow below using just the first “chunk” of data - mainly to get your feedback before attempting the whole solution. As I see it, there are two main problems to overcome with the raw data:

• The header information is broken across rows. I fixed this manually in Excel - outside of KNIME entirely - to start (again, not 100% sure if this lines up with what you wanted) but we could do it in KNIME too with a little more massaging.
  • You have information from different backwalls in the same column when combining multiple tables together. This is the primary reason I think the unpivoting should come first - we can always combine the tables using a loop afterward.