How to Build an Interactive Cell Selector

Greetings!

I have a grid of images like this:

What I need is each column to have its own selector column appended next to it where I can interactively select the cells (images) that I want. The selected cells will then be filtered downstream.

I’m thinking of either 1 of these selection methods:

1. An open-ended field where a user may write a nominal value between two options (e.g. writing a dummy score of 1 to select and 0 or nothing to leave the cell unselected), OR

2. A tickbox function in which case choosing to tick the box selects the image next to it, OR

3. A dropdown menu with an option of ‘Select’. (For this particular case, I have looked at this workflow but since I’m not a coder, I don’t know how to alter the code for my use case.

Kindly help with this. Thank you.

P.S. Would appreciate a workflow/idea that doesn’t involve looping since I’m working with a quite huge grid table.

1 Like

Hi @badger101 , I can’t see how this would work in Knime. It does not usually do “cell filter”. It does row filter and column filter as in filtering in our out a whole row or a whole column.

There are a multiple roadblocks to do this. I’m not even sure if you could create such interactivity (cell selection). But let’s say you could do this, the cell selection. How do you apply the filtering after? And can someone pick more than 1 image in a row?

If we look at the Table View node, it offers interactive selection, but it’s done on a row-base:

It allows you to select rows, and it will generate a boolean column called “selected” to indicate which rows were selected. You can then filter the rows (entire row) based on that column.

How would you do a cell filter after you implement the cell selection?