How to count occurances (single / pairs / tripples / etc)

Hello,
I am new to KNIME - hope my question is not trivial (/had not been answered 100 times before).

CASE: I’ve got (ie. 20) sets of digits [0-9] (and digits are unique in each set) - example Test_input.xlsx (NOTE: it does not matter if set is collumn-oriented or row-oriented… can be done both ways)
Test_input.xlsx (9.2 KB)

I would love to understand how can I count/analyze which:

• single value (in all 20 sets) occurs most often?.. or a full % split/count would be even better :slight_smile:
  • pairs (that exists within a particular set, however count should be done in the whole table of all 20 sets) occurs most often?
  • triplets (meaning full set) occurs most often ?

NOTE: this is simplified example, because my final data-table is way bigger obviously :slight_smile:
Thank you for any help or comment!
Borys

Hello @BorBla ,
Welcome to the KNIME Community!

I have tried to solve this without using any loop nodes, and I am unsure whether it is the most efficient way to solve it, but I hope this helps.

Dummy.knwf (87.8 KB)

Let me know if it works for you.

Thanks,
Sanket

2 Likes

hi Sanket,
Thank you very much for your time and the answer!
It compiles :)… and works to some extent, however probably I’ve described it poorly, and thus not necassairly as expected - I am most sorry here… and let me jump to more details (backed up with examples).

Lowest “GroupBy” branch should return occurances - giving results as follows
image - excel formula “CountIf” (equal to a particular digit)

“Middle” : Pairs are aggregated very well with 3 Column Aggs - that’s a great idea!
However pairs should be also counted within all the sets, so
{0,1} => 3 occurances (set.2 & set.7 & set.16 - that is just so that its clear, does not have to be included in the KNIME solution)
{0,2} => 1 occurance (set.7)
{0,3} => 1 occurance (set.8)
{0,4} => 0 occurances

and analogically with whole triple-sets
{0,1,2} => 1 occurance (set.7)