How to facillitate two people working on Knime scripts together

Hello. I have been using Knime for my job for a couple of years to do data processing, pretty much entirely by myself. It’s been fine because I can have a private dropbox workspace where I keep my files and scripts, and I run the scripts on my local machine. Now we have a new employee who I need to share scripts with that both of us work on.

We use dropbox to synchonise our files at my company.

Two issues have emerged:

• sharing Knime scripts. I’ve mostly been able to work this one out. I think if we have a shared folder in dropbox that acts as our workspace, we can access and modify the same scripts. But I’m worried the system is not designed to handle this and the files could break if we make too many changes at once.
  • file directories. Our file reader/write nodes use directories based on our usernames, e.g /Users/username/Company Dropbox/username/Company Projects/Project folder/Important files/. This is annoying because it means to run the scripts from scratch it requires us to replace the read/write directories which is a nuissance

End result: it would be nice to have a google docs style system where we can both access, edit and run the scripts seemlessly.

I saw that Knime server is an option. I’m interested if it is effective. However our company is cash strapped at the moment. So they may not be willing to spend the money. But it would be good to know what solutions are available, plus know how the community handles this.

1 Like

@Mercurius I would advise against sharing KNIME workspaces via Cloud services if more than one person is working there at the same time. It might lead to conflicts and loss of data.

You can have something like a hand made backup system. I have written something about Cloud Drives and Backup here:

Mastering KNIME: Unlocking Peak Performance with Expert Tips and Smart Settings

• “Backup is only for the faint of heart?”