How to optimize the two variable's values in linear regression

How to optimize the two (A, B) variables values using linear regression.

knimeForum

I have three values in A variable the range is (2.4, 3.0, 3.6) and B (1.05, 1.12,1.20)
I know the two nodes (Parameters Optimization Loop) available in knime but I am not an expert in KNIME so I am confused that how can I use these two nodes (Parameters Optimization Loop).
Here is the screenshot of the values in my dataset.

Hi,
what do you mean by “optimizing A and B”? If you want to do Linear Regression, you need features (independent variables, X) and a dependent variable (y) that you want to predict based on the features. What are the features in your case and what is the dependent variable? A Parameters Optimization Loop is used to optimize hyperparameters of a given learner, but in the case of linear regression there are not really any hyperparameters you need to optimize. Please clarify your goal of this analysis.
Kind regards
Alexander

1 Like

Thank you for your reply.
These are the independent variables

• Files (Number (integer))
  • Statements (Number (integer))
  • Calls (Number (integer))
  • Classes (Number (integer))
  • Total Complexity (Number (integer))
  • KLOC (Number (double))

and this is the target variable Effort
We use Effort = A(KLOC) ^ B to create the effort column/ dependent variable.
I have already described the A and B values.
We check the KLOC to select the A and B values

KLOC < 50 (Use A=3.2, B=1.05)
KLOC > 50 && KLOC < 300 (Uuse A=3 , B=1.12)
KLOC > 300 (Use A=2.8, B=1.20)

Actually it’s a Cocomo formula we use Cocomo model to get the effort for software.

Hi,