Image Reader - picture is all grey

Hello everyone,

I am new at KNIME but am enjoying it very much. I got stuck however doing something seemingly very simple. I made a workflow to download satellite images which then need to be processed. Below a download link to one of those images (its a 40mb TIF image).

https://s3-us-west-2.amazonaws.com/landsat-pds/c1/L8/198/023/LC08_L1GT_198023_20210208_20210208_01_RT/LC08_L1GT_198023_20210208_20210208_01_RT_B3.TIF

When you open this image you can see a rather cloudy picture of the Netherlands taken by the Landsat satellite.

Downloading this image using KNIME worked. But when I read this image using the Image Reader (from the KNIME image processing extension) and then look at the image within KNIME, it is completely grey. After doing some research I started experimenting with the different pixel types (in the configure settings). I tried all of them with different results. Either the picture is completely grey, black, or it is a black and white pixel scene that does not look like the original image at all, see an example below.

I do not know how to proceed and hope someone more experienced in image processing can help me.

Gr Wouter

1 Like

Dear @WouterH1985,

Welcome to the community!

What you are experiencing is not due to incorrect pixel type detection. What tipped it off for me was the fact that I could see rectangular structures in the image (even with the auto type detection). Those squares were actually 512px*512px which is exactly the tile size of the TIFF file that you are trying to read. Long story short: The TIFF reader of the library that we are using (SCIFIO) doesn’t seem to handle tiled TIFFs all too well.

I was able to open the image with KNIME after converting it to a non-tiled TIFF, however.

Best regards,
Stefan

1 Like

Dear Stefan,

Thank you very much for your reply.