Implementation of Treemap CSV

Hey nice people,

i am new to the implementation of d3 examples into the knime tool.
Unfortunately the explanation for another example is too hard to understand and very old.
https://www.knime.com/blog/from-d3-example-to-interactive-knime-view-in-10-minutes
https://hub.knime.com/knime/spaces/Examples/latest/07_Scripting/04_JavaScript/01_D3_JS-Example~41V8OYtwe7wZODCk

To be exact:

I need to visualize disease data (csv) in following way:
https://observablehq.com/@d3/treemap
How can i implement this chart into knime?
How should i clean the data ?
etc.

Is there any instructions for this chart in particular.

Thanks for the help and greeting !

M

2 Likes

Hey @mschwanse,

true, a lot of things changed (and will change) regarding JavaScript and its dependencies - so here a little example from which you can work off (thanks @DanielBog for helping!):

Regarding the data format, you can have a look how the “flare” example dataset from here is handled and adjust it to your disease dataset accordingly (possibly by adjusting the workflow you linked). In my example, I wrapped it into a JSON which I passed on via flow variable.

Regarding the implementation in KNIME via JavaScript: you’d find the code for the Treemap chart here from where you can copy-paste it into the Generic JavaScript View node. The tricky part is to use a newer version of d3, which you can get with require.js. Then it’s a matter of making the svg object known to the html page by adding it to the innerHTML of the body:

// get latest d3 and/or other needed dependencies
require.config({
	paths: {
                "d3": "https://d3js.org/d3.v7.min"
	}	
});
// wrap function that needs d3 with require.js
require(["d3"], function(d3) {
	// Treemap code here
	// chart = Treemap(flare, { ...
	html += chart.outerHTML;
	body.innerHTML = html;
}

I uploaded an example on the Hub which you can use as a starting point:

I hope that gets you started!
Kind regards,
Lukas

2 Likes