Joining multiple files in Knime

Dear All,

first of all, let me say thank you to the developers of Knime for making this wonderful program available to the public. And many thanks also to the community for helping new users!

I am new to Knime, but I have worked with a commercial platform alternative during my Ph.D. thesis.

One thing I would like to do know, is how to join multiple tables (11 tables) into one table with Knime. This task was very easy with the other program, but I don't know how to do it using Knime. I searched the Forum for this task, which seemed to me rather trivial, but I could not find any information. If I overlooked something sorry for that!

To give you a bit more detail on my problem. I have 11 tables, that have all the same number of rows and columns. All of them have 3 columns: Year, Month, and one "data" column (the data column has different names!)

Table 1:

Year Month Width

2011 1 132

2011 2 165

Table 2:

Year Month Height

2011 1 267

2011 2 6251

Table 3:

Year Month Length

2011 1 555

2011 2 234

Table 4:
[...]

I want to join the 11 tables by Year and Month, so that I eventually have one table with 13 columns: Year, Month, 11 data columns from the 11 tables.

Aggregated table:

Year Month Width Height Length [...]

2011 1 132 1267 555 [...]

2011 2 165 6251 234 [...]

Do you have any ideas how to do that?

The Joiner node is your friend. You will need a cascade of Joiners, though. Also note that the column names in tables are unique, therefore the Joiner node has to rename them or you rename them in advance in order to get meaningful names.

Hi thor, thanks for your answer. I have thought of this option but was secretly hoping for a bit more "elegant" solution. Anyway, probably I can consider myself lucky to only have 11 tables to join, not 11.000 ;)

Is there any way this could work with a loop?