Learning Machine Learning: Help with Decision Tree

After few years of using KNIME, this is my first time expanding my knowledge to supervised machine learning models. This week, I picked the Decision Tree to begin my journey with. Would appreciate if you guys can help with my “Mr. Accuracy” and “Mrs. Cohen”. It’s weekend now - I don’t expect a lot of people online to help, so I’m appreciative of any help at all from anybody who’s viewing this thread.

Here’s how my data looks like. It’s just a simple data merely to have something to work with for my journey’s beginning:

The first column is the assigned class (dependent variable), while the rest are the available terms in each document (1=available, 0=unavailable). The goal is to predict the assignment of new documents to either one of the two classes based on the term space.

My accuracy can’t reach & go above 0.6, and the Cohen’s kappa can’t reach 0.2 & above. Here’s the abridged version of the workflow showing the different attempts I made to build the model:

DT 1.knwf (2.1 MB)

One of the attempts I did in the workflow to try to enhance Cohen’s kappa was to use SMOTE (reference: this article).

The term spaces was the result of using the Document Vector node, as used in one of the KNIME’s Example Workflows. I didn’t demonstrate the preceding tasks in this abridged workflow.

In summary, I would like to know why my accuracy and Cohen’s kappa values are too low despite these attempts I made.

Thank you in advance for your time!

Do you have any comparison? Might be the case that the features are not great indicators for predicting the class. The dataset is balanced so I do not see any use in SMOTE. You could try a different model and see whether any result changes
br

In my opinion, most of the data you’re using doesn’t contain useful information for doing accurate classification:

1. A lot of your columns have very low variance
  2. A lot of your columns are correlated with each other