Missing some Standard connectivity known from Alteryx

Dear community,
I am an Alteryx user for roughly 10 months now and want to explore the opportunities Knime can provide me.
I am working in Finance and have a set of standard file formats to process. Unfortunately things seem to be highly complicated in Knime at first sight. I hope you can make my fears fade away :). I am not a coder but more a business user.

My common file formats to read/write back to are:

• xlsm / xlsb files (ideally with the opportunity to select ranges)

• hyper-Extracts (read/process certified Tableau Sources)

• xlsx (Knime standard -->fine)

• to tableau Server(Knime standard -->fine)

• from Hana (Knime standard -->fine)

Thank you very much in advance and best regards,

Christoph

Hi @CEbersbach,
welcome to the KNIME Forum! I am happy to hear that you are giving KNIME a chance to show how cool it is :wink: Regarding XLSM and XLSB: I think our Excel Reader (XLS) should be able to read XLSM files. XLSB is a bit more complicated and requires Python. There is an example workflow on the hub, though: https://kni.me/w/zlTBIedGQxtPg7je. Maybe that helps in that regard.

I don’t know if it is possible to read Hyper extract files in KNIME, a quick search does not turn up anything and so far I have unfortunately never seen it. I am not a Tableau user myself, but I wonder: could you export the extracts in a different format?
If you have any other questions during your KNIME discovery, please let me know, I am happy to help!
Kind regards,
Alexander

3 Likes

Hi Alexander,
thanks for the quick reply. I tried to load an xlsm file but unfortunately these were not listed as file types (just *.xls and *.xlsx).

Hyper is the only format the data can be extracted, as far as I know it by default. Potentially it is possible to generate a csv in a small workaround, so that could work out somehow.

Thanks and best regards,
Christoph

Hi Alex