Monte Carlos Simulations

Hi,

I’m new to KNIME and I would like to know what’s the best way, if possible, to performe Monte Carlo Simulations using KNIME. Trough R? There’s a natural KNIME language I can use?

Thanks in advance and sorry for this newbie question.

Rick

I would say, that writing your own node is the best solution. I’m not sure though, what R offers in that direction.

Forgot to say, that Java is the natural KNIME language :wink:

Hello Rick,
I did a sample workflow with a kind of Monte Carlo setup. You can check it here, although it requires HiTS to load it (if I remember well the generation of a random distribution does not require).
gabor

Wow! A node for monte carlo simulations would be very helpful!

3 Likes

@ScottF @Corey do you know if this exists yet? I could use it on a new optimization problem…

Currently I don’t believe so, at least not in a self-contained node or component.

There is a blog post by one of our partners on methods for implementing Monte Carlo manually:

And associated workflow on the Hub:

3 Likes

good evening guys
I just downloaded the pi approx wf…it runs ok but at the end the lineplot is approaching arround 9.5 instead of pi… I compared the wf with the doc and there are no evident errors… can you pls shed some light to this?

We’d have to ask @pwisneskey for sure, but after a very quick glance at the workflow, maybe he’s missing a sqrt() in his Math Formula nodes?

1 Like

I am happy to take a look at it. There should be (and was) a square root at the end. I’ll let you know what I find shortly. Thank you!

1 Like

Scot was completely correct - the sqrt() was missing from the formulas at the end of the version on the KNIME hub. My local copy was correct so I have pushed the corrected version up to the KNIME hub. Sorry for the trouble and thank you for reporting it.

3 Likes

thnx guys! looking forward to give it a try!