Multi Row Formula refer to itself

Hi how to I code this in KNIME ?

Given the col we are trying create is C

if ( column(“A”) = column(“A”,-1)) then
X - column(“B”)
else
column(“C”,-1) - column(“B”)

I know there is a group loop + moving sum to achieve this… but not efficient.

I would like to achieve that in formula.

in Alteryx, I can do this very easily using multi row component … but in KNIME, I ran out of options …

Maybe a java script ? I am not good with Java so not sure how to do that .

Gordon

Hi @KNIMEuser23421

Welcome to KNIME Community Forum! This looks something like Excel…? :thinking: Don’t quite understand what are you trying to accomplish. To avoid guessing can you provide small input data and expected output and logic if not clear from data? This is proven to be the best approach to get help/advice/solution .
gr, Hans

3 Likes

The Column Expression node is capable of handling this nowadays.

But as @HansS mentioned, please provide as much information as possible.

This can help out:

5 Likes

Yes indeed. this is very very easily achievable via excel … a 3 year old can achieve… but in KNIME I. can not refer to current column offset items

The problem I am trying to produce cumulative sum of a column given a condition …

table can be like
Year | Loss
2018 100
2018 200
2019 300
2019 400

resuling table would be
Year | loss
2018 100 ← 100 + nothing because it first
2018 300 ← 100 + 200
2019 300 ← 300 + nothing
2019 700 ← 300 + 400

there are several ways to do this within the workflow.

• R snippet
    -Python
  • use group loop moving sum

but I just want to solve this solution using 1 formula that can call value of itself offset 1… it is sooo hard to achieve this in KNIME given my expertise in KNIME

else I won’t register a community forum account and ask for help.