Multitenancy support

Hello,

I am a newbie to Knime. I have a Spring boot application, which involves multi-tenancy and the databases are supported through flyway.
Since the databases are different but the tables across them are same,
I would like to know, if there is a possibility to get the list of databases and loop through them?
I tried legacy database looping node, but it wasn’t exactly successful and I could not even establish connection to my Mysql server.

Thank you :slight_smile:

Hello @Madhu,

and welcome to KNIME Community!

Don’t have experience with Spring boot applications and not sure I understand your use case for using KNIME but in order to connect to your database(s) you need DB connector node(s). In your case MySQL Connector node. Now I’m not sure how looping over a list of databases would look like but for looping over DB tables you can use Table Row To Variable Loop Start node and control database nodes with created flow variables. (Probably similar approach could done for looping over different databases but haven’t tried it or seen it ever…)

Database Looping node is from legacy framework and is not intended for looping over different databases. For completeness I’m adding link to database guide:
https://docs.knime.com/latest/db_extension_guide/index.html

Br,
Ivan

4 Likes

Hi @Madhu , I don’t think you can retrieve the list of databases via Knime…

The MySQL connector, or generic db connector requires that you enter a database name since these connectors are connecting to a db.

Even if you add a dummy/generic db name (of a db that exists of course), you would not be able to run a show databases to retrieve the list of databases.

The DB Query Reader is kind of an encapsulator which basically will run a SELECT * FROM (<Whatever query you write>), so SELECT * FROM (show tables) is not a valid query.