Need help reading an excel file and creating a csv file with the same name

I am very new to KNIME and I am having trouble implementing the following loop:

I’d like to read all the Excel tables in a folder and create a csv table for each of them that has the same name as the original, only with .csv insteal of .xlsx of course.

So far I have a List Files/Folders → table row to variable loop start → excel reader → a bunch of column filters → CSV writer, but I am not sure which loop end node ot add. I suspect I have to have the loop end connected “in parallel” to the writer so that it doesn’t concatenate all the tables, but I am still unsure how to do this.

Can anyone help me? Thanks!

Hello @rita_vp and welcome to the forum.

Have you tested to connect the ‘csv writer’ to the ‘loop end’ by using the variables port?
Or any other node to be run sequentially afterwards.

Regards

Hi @rita_vp -

I suspect you need the Variable Loop End node here. This type of loop end node is useful when you don’t need to collect all the iterated data in a table, because the “magic is happening” somewhere else (in this case, filtering and writing files).

A dummy workflow might look something like this:

4 Likes

Hi @rita_vp , and welcome to the Knime Community.

As long as you have the CSV Writer inside the loop, then it’s going to write to different CSV files, as long as to give it a different file name (basically same file name as original file, except for the extension).

For the loop end, you can use the Variable Loop End since you are going with Table Row To Variable Loop.

I put something together for you, and it looks like this:

And this is the folder before the workflow is run:

And after the workflow is run:

As you can see, the workflow created 5 separate csv files.

And here’s the workflow:
Read Excel files and Create CSV files with same name.knwf (55.3 KB)

7 Likes