Need help to remove commas after combining multiple columns

Dear all,

Hope you are doing great!

I am new to Knime and while trying to build some workflows, I am stuck at a point where I will require your valuable guidance and help.

So at this stage of my workflow, I have combined 8 different columns and it gives me an outcome where it has commas at the beginning, at the end or in the middle of the outcome.

I used column combiner/column aggregator (with unticking the “missing” box), string manipulation/string replacer node but still the commas remain same or if I remove delimiters or use replacer, it removes all the commas thereby combining all 8columns without any Seperator. My input and output look something like this:

Example 1:

Before joining
column A-H= null (First row)

Then I get this result:
, , , , , , , => comma as a separator for each column even though there is no value

Example 2:

Before joining (2nd row)
column A = A1, A2
column B = null
column C = C1, C2
and so on…

Then I get this result:
A1, A2, , C1, C2 => commas in the middle of the string sequence

Example 3:

Before joining (3rd row)
column A = null
column B = B1, B2
column C = C1, C2

Then I get this result:
, B1, B2 C1, C2 => commas at the beginning of the string sequence

Example 4:

Before joining (4th row)
column A = A1, A2
column B = B1, B2
column C = null

Then I get this result:
A1, A2, B1, B2, , => commas at the end of the string sequence

and so on…

How can I remove these commas at the end or at the beginning or in the middle of the string sequence?

Thank you!

Kind regards
Nath

Do your “null” values show as “?” in KNIME? My guess is that they are blank values “” instead. If that is the case then you can just replace the “” values with missing values and bypass the issue from the start.

Hello,
Thank you for addressing my query promptly.

Yes my null values were indicating as “?” before and my outcome was something like this for first example/first row: ?,?,?,?,?,?,?,?