Need Solution

hi
I am new to Knime. Can anyone help me with this ?

I have the data shown for every min but I need to calculate the number of calls for every hour?
how to get the call count for every hour?

say for example, I have a data like
6:03:15 1
6:15:12 1
6:38:34 1
6:53:34 1

7:06:15 1
7:18:12 1
7:39:34 1
7:57:34 2

8:03:15 1
8:17:12 1
8:28:34 2
8:53:34 1

I need to get like

6am-7am β€” 4
7am-8am β€” 5
8am-9am ---- 5

Please if someone can help me. Thank You

Hi,

If it is not first format your data as time (String to DateTime node) then extract only the hours (Rxtract DateTime Fields node). At the end use GroupBy node

Regards

3 Likes

I like the solution posed by @andrejz, you can also use regex to extract the first digit from each of your times and then use groupby using a summation aggregation.

Regex is more complex, but can be handy for other situations.
Extract_Hour_Then_Groupby.knar.knwf (8.6 KB)

Screen Shot 2022-03-23 at 11.30.57 AM
Screen Shot 2022-03-23 at 11.33.08 AM

Screen Shot 2022-03-23 at 11.32.30 AM

2 Likes

hi,
My client is using the older version of KNIME (3.7.1) and haven’t got permission to upgrade. I am unable to use column Expression Node - JavaScript Regex.
Also I am able to do the above solution mentioned by @andrez.
But do I need to use the loop to get the counts for the hours 6AM to 8PM or is there any better logic to work with.

Thanks @andrejz
Thanks @victor_palacios

@sophia_09 You can use cell splitter node and there split by β€œ:” so you get the hour. Then use the GroupBy node (as already mentioned before).
br

2 Likes

Thanks @Daniel_Weikert

I got the solution . I just used Extract date Time Field and Group by node to get the count by hours.
Thank you all.

1 Like

Hi,

If you want to group data (hours) in a range (for example 0-3, 4-7,…) you can use Auto Binner or Numeric Binner node to create this ranges.