Node File Reader to read multiple files

Hello all,

I am a young developer and new to KNIME. I have spent a good amount of time sifting through examples and haven’t found one that expresses the capabilities for the node I’m looking for. I am not sure if there is a configuration for File reader.

Is there a input start node that will read multiple files from “List of Files” from a folder? I am trying to collect information from multiple text file and have them organized in a table to get catalog with inventory. Should design a loop function instead? How could I do that?

Look one more time, please.
https://www.knime.com/nodeguide/control-structures/loops/example-for-reading-a-list-of-files

2 Likes

Hello @michaellis,

Yes, you need to implement a loop to iterate though the file list. Please take a look at this sample in the sample server that demonstrates this. The meta node step is not needed in your case but it is so the sample can run on your environment.

https://www.knime.com/nodeguide/control-structures/loops/example-for-reading-a-list-of-files

1 Like

Thank you, I appreciate the directions.

If you want the whole of each file in a single cell, take a look in the Vernalis community plugin too
Steve

@cpadilla @izaychik63

Is there a guide to the Java edit variable? I’m not familiar with Java Script. The example is not clear as to how the Java Edit Variable will direct which file for the File Reader Node to open and read in the loop.

I originally thought that you would have the Java edit variable before the start of the loop, directing each file to be read, manipulated and then close the loop and compile a cataloge a the end of the workflow.

Thank you for your help

Hi @michaellis,

This is to have unique RowIDs for this example.