Normalization

Good morning,

I am new to KNIME. I have imported an excel file with no problems and I want to normalize the predictors (n = 367) using the Normalizer node, but a warning signs appears in the node and no variables can be selected. Can you please provide some help?

Thank you,
Marc!

Screenshot|690x388

Hi @MarcB and welcome to the forum.

Here’s your screenshot, for the benefit of others:

My best guess is that the Normalizer node doesn’t see any numbers to work with because your columns are currently defined as strings. Can you check the configuration of your Excel Reader node, and make sure that you’re reading in the headers properly, and especially that your output fields in the preview pane are classified as numbers?

1 Like

Thank you, Scott. My columns after file import with the the Excel Reader node are all defined as “S” (strings). I used the “String to Number” node to convert them to double (all but one column -that defines the class- are numbers with two decimal places, i.e. 1,68, 2,95, etc.). However, an error is produced (se attached image) and the Console seems to say that there are missing values in all columns, which is not true. Any suggestions?
Thank you,
Marc

Without seeing the data coming out of the Excel Reader node, or the configuration of the node, it’s difficult to say what’s going on.

Can you share the workflow and/or some data? Troubleshooting while blind is usually frustrating for everyone involved.

Sure. Is this enough? Thank you!

Thanks, screenshots can work, but they tend to only show what the poster thinks is important, and key troubleshooting information is usually not included. Having the knwf/knar file and data would be ideal.

For example, what does the table coming out of the Excel Reader node look like? None of the screenshots actually provide this information.