Oracle SQL query & date condition

Hi,
I am new in Knime. I started to built workflow which is using Oracle database. I used “Oracle connector” node, then I am trying to use “DB querry reader” node with built-in SQL statement. Statement is working fine, but when I add condition relating the date field then it shows me error “ORA-01861: literal does not match format string”.
Any Idea?

Simple example of SQL statement below:

Select contract.id, contract.activdate
from contract
where
contract.activdate>'2022-01-01’

Hi @AreQ , this error is likely to occur when you supply a literal date string to Oracle that is not in the format it is expecting.

I assume that the activdate column on your contract table is an oracle DATE datatype.

Oracle requires that if you pass a date as a literal without using to TO_DATE function (to state the format of the date you are supplying), that the format matches the NLS_DATE_FORMAT for your current session. Assuming you haven’t specified NLS_DATE_FORMAT, it will probably be DD-MON-YY e.g. ‘01-JAN-22’.

If you want to, you can find out what the current expected format for a date is by simply returning the current sysdate from oracle,

e.g. using SELECT SYSDATE FROM DUAL

As the date format could be modified for a given session,( using ALTER SESSION SET NLS_DATE_FORMAT = '<date format>' ), it is best with Oracle to ALWAYS wrap date literals with the TO_DATE function, so that you are making no assumptions about the current default format.

Assuming that the date literal you have is in the format YYYY-MM-DD, you should find that changing your query to the following should work:

Select contract.id, contract.activdate
from contract
where
contract.activdate>TO_DATE('2022-01-01’,'YYYY-MM-DD')