Pause Loop Execution Conditionally / Programmatically

Dear Knimers,

who hasn’t face the situation where a loop execution fails or you just want to inspect the data let’s say every then iterations?

As of today there is no node available to just halt a loop execution. Thankfully, due to flexibility of Knime but also the many awesome extensions, a solution is only some thoughts away.

Please find hereby a showcase of three solutions how to conditionally / programmatically pause execution.

Utilizing a little bit of Python, in curtesy of ChatGTP as I am not a developer, the first two open a modal drawing attention the the Knimer.

The second even provides some basic inspection capabilities.

The third leverages a simple pause / lock file in conjunction with the wait node.

Please let me know your thoughts and how to improve it?

Best
Mike

3 Likes

How are you viewing the data output during the pause? For me it seems to just hold mid-execution and waits to continue the execution instead of ending the loop execution and allowing you to review the output or edit. I tend to place a row / iteration / conditional filter (which has a bypass setting for normal use) on the underlying data. This sets a hard loop end point which allows you to execute through the end of the loop for review and editing. I also use a flow variable to stop the downstream execution below the loop end when it is not in bypass mode. It requires 2 connected components, but works well.

Hi @mwiegand , I’ve also run into this situation in the past, which you may also be interested in.

My solution was using a Java node in a “breakpoint” component and a disconnected “controller component” day tells it when to break.

I’ve actually been putting together a video demonstration of this which I plan to upload at some point.