Problems with the xls-Formatter - currency

Hello,

i used the XLS-Formatter.

In my exported Excel-File i got two diffrent currency-formats: One column “Provisons-Basis €” is correct, the second column “Provision €” is wrong. Wrong because the €-Symbol is missing.

Both Columns are formatted as Double:
Double-Formattierung

XLS Cell Formatter-Provisions-Basis

Einstellung für Column “Provision €”
XLS Cell Formatter

Exported excel file
Excel-Tabelle-Ausgabe

I can´t find the mistake in my configurations of the nodes.

Thx in advance

I have been leaning harder on this node, which dramatically simplifies Excel formatting and formula structure.

@USCHUKN1ME

I’ve never used these nodes before, but looking at your images the decimal and thousands separators in your excel workbook and the text formatting string are different (the formatting string uses thousand separators with comma, decimal with period; whereas, your worksheets are period for thousands separator and then comma for decimal).

The first column you have a period in the numbers, which Excel will pick up as currency format, whereas the second column does not, so picks up as a general number.

Don’t know if that is your problem, but it is what I see.

DiaAzul

I think you would have to upload some sample data in an exported workflow. When I encounter things like this kind of thing, it usually requires some troubleshooting.

1 Like

@iCFO ,

Your suggestion will help. But you will also need to change the locale settings for your computer to match the environment of the OP. I’m not sure to what extent KNIME nodes are locale aware and in sync with the host operating system. We’ve always standardised on commas for thousand separators and periods for decimals to avoid problems, but that doesn’t apply to everyone.

1 Like

True, but it could be something more easily found on the KNIME side like character encoding for commas or hidden characters.

1 Like

Hi @DiaAzul,

I think I used the same formatting