Proper data structure for machine learning using contact history data

Hi,

I am completely new to Knime and experimenting with machine learning.

I would like to predict buy/no buy decision. I have a following data set:
Client ID, contact date, result of contact, type of product sold.

Basically for the same client ID, I have more than 1 contact trials. Some contacts result in purchase, some not. For example, within a specific time period, I could have 10 contacts with specific client, but only 2x he has purchased anything.

Problem:
I do not how to handle “contact history” to prepare an input table for a predictor/e.g. decision tree. In KNIME examples, like “churn prediction”, in input tables 1 client = 1 row. In my case: 1 client = mulitple rows (this is because each contact generates a new record/row in CRM). How to best approach it? Shall I built some supporting statistical indicators such as “average time between contacts” to transform my table to 1 client=1 row table? or somehow aggregate these rows into one. These seem highly impractical.

Thank you for any suggestions
HT

Hi @Horsten, welcome to the forum

Some thoughts about your question.Take some time to have a clear view on your business question, before you translate it to a data science question What is it exactly what you want to predict?

1. if a customer will by or not
  2. if a contact will lead to a sail
    E.g. In a certain situation? ; within a period of time? ; or ?

I guess your question is more like the first one, and in that case it is best to end up with a table based on individual customers. The way to come from transactions to individual customers is the Pivot Node.
You will end up with a table like:
customer_id ; contact_1_features, contact_2_features (…) contact_n_features

Another thing to consider, is if there is an order in the contacts, make sure that the every group of variables in the contact_features describes the same event (e.g. first visit; or first time send brochure…).