Python Script adaptation

Hi,
I am trying to adapt the below python code to the Phyton Script node in KNIME, but I got short on ideas since I am not a programmer. Any help will be appreciated:

Code:

import pandas as pd
import numpy as np
import ppscore as pps

Here I am trying to put the whole input table*

df = pd.DataFrame(*)
df.head()
mat = pps.matrix (df)
mat

I want to send the results in “mat” to the output table.

Thanks in advance,

AG.

Hello @VAGR_ISK
Have you already tried ?

output_table_1 = pd.DataFrame(mat.copy())

BR

1 Like

Your mat item is a dictionary. You will have to convert it to a pandas data frame before bringing it back to KNIME.

output_table_1 = pd.DataFrame.from_dict(mat, orient='index')

3 Likes

Hello,

Thanks for the rapid feedback. Actually, there is more than one question there. First, I am not sure how to import the content of the whole table. Normally, at the left side of the python script node, you see the columns that are in the table and you can reference the individual columns. However, in this case, I need to reference the whole table and send it to pandas. In the previous post, I added an “asterisk” to indicate where I “think” I need to reference the whole table: df = pd.DataFrame('*). Thus I don’t know what to put instead of this asterisk.

Once I manage to import the whole table to pandas, I will definitively try the line of code you gave me to output the results obtained in mat item.

Let me know if you understand my question, as mentioned my knowledge is limited in programming.

Thanks,

AG

This sounds more like a python question. In python you have different data structures. Often numpy arrays or dictionaries and the like. Knime would need pandas data frames (https://pandastutor.com/) or in later versions arrow tables to transfer data directly.

You might want to inform us what the status of your workflow is and what you have been trying to do.

Here is an example you could adapt.