Selenium Get Cookies

How do you get cookies from the Selenium nodes?

My crawling requirements are now so complicated that I believe that I need the Selenium nodes to compliment the Palladium nodes. But please bear with me as I am a complete newbie to Selenium and Selenium nodes.

I am trying to use Selenium to extract the cookies I receive from a site and push them into the bottom cookies port of an HttpRetriever node. The cookies are being generated via a JavaScript process that is too complicated for the HttpRetriever nodes alone to follow.

The Selenium documentation says:

http://www.seleniumeasy.com/selenium-tutorials/how-to-handle-cookies-in-selenium-webdriver

Selenium webdriver can perform required task with respect to browser cookies. We add , delete, delete particular cookie by passing the name, and so on.

Get Cookies
Method Name: getCookies()
Syntax: driver.manage().getCookies();
Purpose: Get all the cookies for the current domain. This is the equivalent of calling "document.cookie" and parsing the result.
Returns: A Set of cookies for the current domain.

But the nodes that connect downstream of the Selenium "Start WebDriver" node only seem to be capable of extracting Elements and CSS.

I tried writing a JSON script and connecting it directly to the "WebDriver Factory" but I got the error "Configre failed (RuntimeException): Step type 'getCookies' is not implemented".

I also found this useful-looking piece of code that might be runnable in the Selenium "Execute JavaScript" node if only I knew how to connect all the dots:

function getCookie(e){
	var t=doc.cookie.match(
		new RegExp("(?:^|;)\\s*"+e+"=([^;]+)")
	);
	return t?t[1]:""
}

Hi Edlueze,

a dedicated "Cookie" node will be available in a future update which is coming soon.

In the meantime, you can use the JavaScript node for extracting cookie data. Simply use the following JS code and return the cookies as string:

return document.cookie;