Send Email to users from Table with content from table

Hi everyone,

I want to use knime to send an email to multiple users listed in a table. The same table has other columns which represent the user-individual content of the email I want to send.

The Table would look something like this:
Example_file.xlsx (11.1 KB)

I am fairly new to knime and I am not really shure how to start with this problem.

Has someone an idea? Thank you very much for your help.

Best Ole

Hi Ole,
I would use a Table Row To Variable Loop Start to loop through your table. Then you add a Send Email node after that. In the send email node you have access to the current row’s content via Flow Variables. The flow variable for the body you can directly use inside the corresponding text box, the one for the “to” field must be set in the Flow Variables tab of the configuration. It might be necessary to add a dummy value in the “to” text field in the “Mail” tab so the dialog’s validation runs through.
Finally, you will need to close your loop. You can do that by just appending a Variable Loop End node to the Send Mail node. For that, right-click the Send Mail node and choose “Show Flow Variable Ports”, then connect the top-right red dot to the red dot of the loop end.
Kind regards,
Alexander

3 Likes

Hi Alexander,

thank you very much. I have build a worklflow according to your explanations. I get the error “Error while communicating with the smtp server: javax.mail.messagingException: [EOF]” I am using Office 365 and used smtp.office365.com as SMTP Host and 587 as SMTP port. Do you have an idea what I did wrong here?

Also one further question regarding this configuration. Is it possible to adjust it such that only one email for every unique adress is send with an aggregation of all content rows that are mapped to this e-mail?

Again thank you very much for your help!

Best Ole

1 Like

Hi Ole,