Similarity search with user defined coefficients

Dear all,

I am relatively new to KNIME and are trying to do similarity searches, between a dataset containing fingerprints and a dataset containing reference fingerprints.
However, for the similarity search I want to make use of less common similarity coefficients that are not incorporated within, for instance, the similarity search node:

Simple matching: s= (a+d)/(a+b+c+d)
Sokal-Sneath: s= 1/4 [a/(a+b)+a/(a+c)+d/(b+d)+d/(c+d)]

In which a, b, c and d are:

• a = number of bits set in both fingerprints (=1)
  • d = number of bits not set in both fingerprints (=0)
  • b = number of bits set in fingerprint but not in reference fingerprint
  • c = number of bits not set in fingerprint but set in reference fingerprint

I thought that the use of the similarity search node with a user provided distance measure (using the Java distance node) would be the solution. However, I cannot figure out how to make this work.
Any help or suggestions would be highly appreciated.

Kind regards,
Pim

Hi Pim,

this is going to be challenging. The node was made having in mind to calculate similarities on strings.

There is no native support for bit vectors in the node. However, just tested, dense bit vectors (an option you can set in the “Create Bit Vector” node) are passed in as a string of bits (“011000111…”). Sparse bit vectors are not (and you are out of luck).

I think even with the “000111” representation you will have a hard time calculating a, b, c, and d as the nodes doesn’t offer methods to do that right away (and the entire expression needs to fit int a single statement, no code blocks).

Unfortunately, I think, the node won’t help you solve that problem. Maybe consider to write a custom node to do it?

Bernd