Similarity search?

Hi,

I am doing research in psychology and trying to use KNIME to analyze my text data. But as I am new to KNIME and its functions, I am stuck and feeling frustrated and would very much appreciate your help.

I now have a list of 1000+ items/sentences from different questionnaires. I am trying to identify items/sentences that are similar to each other within the corpus. I have attempted making use of similarity search but I guess I have not set the workflow right – it does not run.

So far, I have successfully prepocessed the documents. What nodes can I use after this to be able to identity duplicate documents within the corpus? Can you guide me on this?

And if you know of better analytical strategies, I am open to them as well.

Sophia

Hi @Sophiahn

Did you already have a look at the LDA / Topic Extractor node in these workflows?

topic

2 Likes

Hi @HansS

Yes, I have. I have already tried it. But it did not give the results I wanted. Plus, in LDA, or Topic Extractor I would have to identify the number of topics I want to extract, which we are not sure of theoretically.

So currently, we are looking at different alternatives.

Hi @Sophiahn
The number of topics is always be theoretically, and can only be determined by domain knowledge. So my approach would be to run multiple LDA an see what number of topics fits best. Eventually you can determine the number of topics using clustering (the elbow method). Or do it the other way around: create with your domain knowledge a list with topics and the synonyms. Find the synonyms in your documents and add the topic. This will also takes some trial and error.
gr. Hans

2 Likes

Hi @Sophiahn!

Always good to see a fellow psychologist around, welcome to the KNIME community!

Let’s see if I can help you here. First: what KNIME version are you using? If you download the most recent version (KNIME 4.0) you can use the Duplicate Row Filter node to detect and remove duplicate documents in your corpus!