Trouble loading data with CSV Reader

Hello, I am new to KNIME ,trying to create my first workflow and having trouble loading the data into CSV Reader. Getting this error message
Execute failed : New line in quoted string (or closing quote missing). in line 2
Data set info as follows,
memory usage: 31.2+ MB
RangeIndex: 289331 entries, 0 to 289330
Data columns (total 15 columns)
dtypes: bool(1), float64(1), int64(1), object(12)

Hi @HakobAvjyan -

Have you tried using the File Reader node instead? It’s a little more robust about dealing with inconsistencies in CSV files.

1 Like

Hi Scott, thanks for your response.
Yes !
File Reader works fine and it loads the data set, but I am running into a different issue, unfortunate it doesn’t recognize the data structure, instead of 15 columns it combines everything into one column.
I tried to modify the column delimiter , but that didn’t help .

Are you able to post a small example file, or is the data proprietary?

2 Likes

My experience is that sometimes you could import ‘messy’ csv files with the help of the R package readr.

2 Likes

I haven’t tried to shrink the data set yet, but for the sake of the end result it is important to be able to examine the data in its entirety and yes the data is proprietary .

Thank you ,
I am trying this out now, but looks like the List Files node dose not recognize CSV format files …

Getting Error message while executing String To URI
ERROR String to URI 4:17 Execute failed: java.lang.RuntimeException: The file to the URI “file:/C:/Users/HAvjyan/Desktop/KNIME/knime-full_4.0.2/number,description,short_description,category,state,active,activity_due,additional_assignee_list,approval,approval_history,approval_set,assigned_to,assignment_group,business_duration,cmdb_ci” does not exist

The List Files node definitely supports listing of CSV files, so there’s something going on with the configuration here.

It looks like you’re somehow passing the header of your file as part of the filename…?