Using Classification Models

Hi

I am new to predictive analytics and machine learning. I have been looking at alot of use cases online and via KNIME on classification algorithms eg Random Forest. What I have noticed in alot of the sample data is that the records already come classified. An example would be KNIME’s churn prediction model using decision trees. In the sample data there is already a field classifying the customer as one who would churn so why would we run this through a model when we already know the outcome of which customers have churned or not. I have seen the same scenario with sample datasets online where they already classify the data. In short I am not understanding why the datasets already come classified and why do we run them through a classification model if we already know the outcome?

Thanks

When you do a classification you already know the available classes in case of the churn data set you have two classes churned and not churned. When you learn a classifier you have to know the classes in the first place. You can use this model for new customers to predict if they are likely to churn or not based on the observations in which you know that a certain customer churned.

This is just a high level explaination from an novice in data science, hope this helps anyway.

5 Likes

Thank you…This affirmed what I had assumed.Which leads me into my next question. How do we now feed in new data for the model to actually predict…In the Churn example quoted above , we already know the customer churned or not.So how do we implement on KNIME onto new data for new customers where we do not already know the outcome ?

Thanks in advance for your assistance

You could have a look at the KNIME Hub, KNIME Hub, where you can search for complete workflows as well as nodes and have a look in which workflow a certain Node is used.

There is also a example workflow on the churn data set using Decision Trees.

Churn Prediction Workflow

2 Likes