Word Vector - Fields documentation (or explanation?)

Hey there,

I've been doing some testings with Deep Learning and I'm focused on text processing, document classification, sentiment analysis, etc. I've checked examples on the server and it's pretty clear how to learn and apply a vector on a set of documents. But I still want to understand better how the Word Vector node works; more specifically, what the fields on the node configuration means (seed, learning rate, minimum learning rate, etc)?

I understand some of them are (kind of) self-explanatory, but what "learning rate" really means? or batch size - is it the number of documents on each iteration? and Epochs? :)

As I'm still learning all this machine learning/data analysis thing, some of those terms are not familiar to me.

I checked the site but couldn't find anything specific to knime: https://deeplearning4j.org/

Any documentation or tips would be greatly appreciated!

Gustavo

Not a word2vec expert here, but terminology such as `epochs` or `learning rate` sounds a lot like neural network jargon. This is the link provided in the KNIME documentation: https://deeplearning4j.org/word2vec

You will also find this link on the aforementioned page: https://www.quora.com/How-does-word2vec-work

Here are some links to resources:

This is easily an intimidating topic (even the non-"deep learning" part !). That's why I'm usually sticking with simpler text representations whenever I can (e.g. the standard text processing nodes, BoW, nearest neighbors with string distance functions, etc) - that will solve your most common problems.

If text processing is what you want to do, you should definitely check out this reference (if you don't know it already): Introduction to Information Retrieval

Great information Geo, appreciate your help!