Working with Dates from an R Source Table

Hi everyone,

After successfully getting my R integration going :partying_face:, I am having a hard time with the concept of converting a date that is coming in from an XLSX file as double (data type) to a yyy-mm-dd format.

I started with R Source Table Read XLSX node followed by an R Snippet node. I can’t figure out how to code it. Granted, this is my first attempt at working with R code and I am in the early noob phase :nerd_face:

Here is what I have written up:
knime.out ← knime.in
knime.in$“filing_date” ← as.Date(knime.in$filing_date , format = “%yyyy/%mm/%dd”)
knime.in$“effdate” ← as.Date(knime.in$effdate , format = “%yyyy/%mm/%dd”)
knime.in$“dob” ← as.Date(knime.in$dob , format = “%yyyy/%mm/%dd”)
knime.in$“j_date”<- as.Date(knime.in$j_date , format = “%yyyy/%mm/%dd”)

And here is the output error message:

knime.out ← knime.in

• knime.in$“filing_date” ← as.Date(knime.in$filing_date , format = “%yyyy/%mm/%dd”)
  • knime.in$“effdate” ← as.Date(knime.in$effdate , format = “%yyyy/%mm/%dd”)
  • knime.in$“dob” ← as.Date(knime.in$dob , format = “%yyyy/%mm/%dd”)
  • knime.in$“j_date”<- as.Date(knime.in$j_date , format = “%yyyy/%mm/%dd”)
  • #data.frame$filing_date ← as.Date(df$filing_date , format = “%yyyy/%mm/%dd”)
  • #data.frame$effdate ← as.Date(df$effdate , format = “%yyyy/%mm/%dd”)
  • #data.frame$dob ← as.Date(df$dob , format = “%yyyy/%mm/%dd”)
  • #data.frame$j_date ← as.Date(df$j_date , format = “%yyyy/%mm/%dd”)
    Error: ‘origin’ must be supplied

Now, I have 3 challenges, I am missing the dashes, and I don’t know if knime.in or knime.out is where I have to point things. Also, I want to name this table SQLimportPrep and when I tried to do that, I failed. I am sure it’s a minor syntax issue. The 3rd challenge is having to move this data into a SQL database. Do I connect the RSnippet directly to a DB Writer node?

Many thanks in advance for your help.
Noemi