writing db data to Snowflake

Hi all,

I am new to KNIME and I need your help.
Currently I am using the process in the workflow shared to write a KNIME table to Snowflake using the nodes you see.
As the workflow takes too long to run and I need to improve it, I transformed all the nodes to db nodes. In the steps shared, I need a way to write my db-data to Snowflake without having to use the DB reader node.
Any suggestions?
Note: steps of the extractions are

1. Create the table if it does not exist
  2. Check if the data for this specific entity and month (2 flow variables) exist and if they do delete the rows
  3. Write the data in the table.
    Extract DB data to Snowflake.knwf (38.4 KB)

Hi @ChrMavrom , when I read your post, I was thinking that you are trying to write from a data source outside of Snowflake, into Snowflake, in which case you would have to use a DB Reader to bring the data into KNIME from where it could then be passed to Snowflake.

However, in looking at your workflow, I believe that all of your data resides in a single Snowflake database, and you are using KNIME to perform the required transformations. Is that correct?

If that is the case, then you can remove the DB Reader and perform the bulk of the data operations within Snowflake, without the data having to be returned to KNIME.

I cannot view the config of your workflow, because I cannot execute it (it relies on your snowflake connection). If you’d been able to upload a working example using an alternative database such as the built in H2 database, then it would have been simpler to assist but instead I’ve made up a workflow to demonstrate the principle.

In this workflow, a sample database table “ENTUPDATES” is accessed.

From this table, a query returns the distinct set of Entity and Month and then this is iterated on with the loop.

The DB Query node is used to supply the query for the database
SELECT "Entity", "Month","Dummy"FROM #table#