Button to download a page from the Web app

Hi everyone,

I’m trying to use the Generic Javascript View node in order to create a button that can trigger the download of a page from the WebApp on the server (Workflow attached below).
I’m using the libraries jspdf and html2pdf and the following links helped me a bit:

I’ve tried to follow the solution here: Using external JS libraries via webTemplate folder - #5 by toscanomatheus, but apparently I do not get how to use the module.exports in order to achieve my goal.
If I do not call the libraries at the top of the Generic Javascript View I can see the button, but it does not trigger anything once clicked on it.

Goal: the idea would be, at the end of some analysis and plotting on the final page (in this case I used a table, but the concept is the same), I should be able to just click a button and save the entire web page as a pdf somewhere on my local computer.

Any idea on how to tackle this problem?

I’m not an expert in Javascript until now, so any help or hints would be very appreciated!
Thanks and have a nice day!

downloadPDFWebPage.knwf (258.3 KB)

Hey Alessandro,

this is a very interesting topic and is coming up more and more in the forum.
It is nice to see that you already tried it yourself and you are on the right track. I looked into your workflow and modified it to make it work for the contained table view. The solution is not perfect, but this might give you insights on how this can work for other views as well. The main problem is, that we use iframes to isolate our views and the library you have used has problems with iframes.

Anyway I hope this helps you already.

Greetings,
Daniel

downloadPDFWebPage.knar.knwf (613.2 KB)

3 Likes

Good morning @DanielBog,

Thank you very much for your very useful reply, I’ve tried your solution and it works perfectly locally (as you said, the output is not perfect but it is already something where I can start build upon!).