Column header names in math formula

Hello,

I am wondering if there is a way to use the column header names in a math formula. I have 12 columns with dates: 1/31/2023, 2/28/2023, etc…

I was hoping to use the column expressions node for my “IF” formula that would compare other columns and then calculate the current column name. My formula is quite long so I will just shorten it up and abbreviate it:

If col A > col B
then column header(12/31/2023) + 2 days

I know in excel it’s fairly easy because the header name is in a certain cell and when I write my formula, in excel, I can include the cell that name is in. But I have searched all over knime and couldn’t find any questions or answers related to this.

Any help would be much appreciated, hopefully it’s an easy solution. I’ve just started using knime a month ago and created a few workflows so I have some working knowledge of knime.

thanks
J

Hi Aworker,

Thank you for the quick reply. I will try it out tomorrow or Tuesday and let you know.

J

1 Like

Hello,

I’m not quite sure how this node helps me in creating an IF statement to make a calculation based on the header name.

I see the first output just cleaves off the names and inserts them into the first row with no other data and the second port cleaves off the names with the original data in the rows.

I need to be able to use the header names, which are dates, in my calculation. So each column would have different values in the rows because the headers have different dates. Hopefully I’m describing that well enough or maybe I’m missing something from the extract column node.

Hi @jkrom,

Sorry I misunderstood your initial question. I understand it better now and you are right, my posted workflow does not answer your question but a different one. I have deleted it to prevent any future confusion of people looking in the forum for the right solution to your question.

Best,
Ael

1 Like