Create rules engine from another file

Hi Team,

So I’m a bit new to Knime and in the part of the workflow which I am trying to create, I have to map from File B into File A, where the rules are set in file B.

To explain with an example
below is the screenshot of file A with condition

below is the screenshot of file B with mappings for the same condition

to explain further what file B denotes is

1. IF [Condition1]=838840 AND [Condition2]=256 THEN 23X
  2. IF [Condition1]=023140 AND [Condition2]=938 THEN 32Z
  3. IF [Condition1]=838840 AND [Condition2]=256 AND [Condition3]=275 AND [Condition4]=G36 THEN
    24Y

hence the final output of File A should be

I at first scoured the internet finding for possible solution, but wasn’t able to find any hence created a topic here, any input would be very helpful

Hi @SiddeeqM,

you can simply use the Joiner node with multiple matching columns (Condition1, Condition2, Condition3, Condition4).

You can join with this solution the Mapped field form file B to file A.

Roland

Hi @rolandnemeth

Thankyou for your reply

Agreed! the joiner node should ideally solve the above stated problem but will create a new one.

Say below are the requirements in File A (row 4 is newly added).

and below is File B with the mappings for the condition (same as before)

The File B denotes a conditions:-

1. IF [Condition1]=838840 AND [Condition2]=256 AND [Condition3]=275 AND [Condition4]=G36 THEN 24Y
  2. IF [Condition1]=838840 AND [Condition2]=256 THEN 23X
  3. IF [Condition1]=023140 AND [Condition2]=938 THEN 32Z

And the expected output should be

Just to summarize:- In File B rule 3 checks only for condition 1 and 2 and hence completely ignores Condition 3 and Condition 4 and returns the output as 32Z in row 4 of File A. This part will probably return a mismatch by Joiner node

I was meanwhile searching the internet for possible solution. Can Rule Engine(Dictionary) be of help?

Your help is very much appreciated

Siddeeq