Creating columns from JSON

Hi,

I’m hoping you can help me! I’m new to JSON and I’m new to Knime.

I’m working with a JSON file structured like this:

I want to be able to write to a table where the “@k” values are column headers and the “@v” values are populated under the appropriate column heading. Looking at the image above, I want “addr:city” to be a heading and “Derby” to be a value underneath that heading.

I’ve created a JSON Path that gets me:

After Ungrouping and using JSON to Table, I get the following, which still isn’t right.

Does anyone have any advice that can get me back on course?

Thanks in advance.

Cheers - John.

Hello @Unlockedata,

and welcome to KNIME Community!

From experience sharing data (dummy works just fine) with community helps as one doens’t have to simulate/guess your JSON structure :wink:

Br,
Ivan

1 Like

Hi Ivan,

See attached JSON test data.

TestData.json (5.3 KB)

Thank you for taking the time to look at this - much appreciated.

Cheers - John.

Hello John!

Does this flow makes sense?
2021_01_14_JSON_Manipulation.knwf (20.2 KB)

Br,
Ivan

2 Likes

Ivan - wow! Thank you sir, I appreciate this. Really!

A final question, if you don’t mind? How do I turn the data in to multiple rows of data?

Each “Node” and “Way” has an “ID” that is unique to that ‘container’ - how can I have all the values within each container in a row?

I hope the attached explains what I’m going on about!

Example output.xlsx (9.9 KB)

You’ve done a lot for me here - thanks.

All the best,

John.

2 Likes

Could your post be pinned so that everybody can see it immediately when access the forum?

1 Like

Hi Ivan,

The workflow works well and I’ve adapted it to be able to cater for far larger JSON files - I’m filtering by hotels. However, the output is still one row, when I’m trying to get a row per property (or @ID).

I’ve tried various Knime tools unsuccessfully. Do you have any pointers or recommendations?

Thanks again.

John.

Hello John,