Excel Import: Numbers recognized as string, which leads to an automatic roundup of all numbers

Hey Community!

I am fairly new to KNIME but enjoying the work a lot!

Working with a lot of Excel Imports (xlsx) I approached a problem with the numbers imported.
I have a column with euro amounts (formated as a currency in excel), which is not recognized as double, int, whatever but as a string.
I thought I just help myself with using the String to Number node, but it seems that I am losing information on the way as all the decimals are gone rounded up in the total euro amount.

Is there any way to define the format of a column before its set automatically?
Or is the problem with the String to Number node?

Thank you for helping me!

1 Like

Hi there!

I think there is no way to define format before. String to Number node should work. At least it works for me. Define your type (double) and decimal separator and that should do it. I donā€™t see a reason why would numbers end up rounded :confused:

Br,
Ivan

1 Like

Hello,
I am new to Knime as well and I am sorry to pick this old topic up again.
I came to the same finding!
I want to read in multiple excel sheets with flows and to avoid data issues I would love to go for string (works perfectly this way in Alteryx as V_WString). The excel sheets are formatted, e.g. partly show cells with decimals and partly rounded to full values (partly also pure text). but excel has the info stored that there are more digits in case of the numbers!
In case a column is interpreted as string => the not shown (formatted to 0 digits) excel digits are cut off.
In case a column is interpreted as double=> the not shown (formatted to 0 digits) excel digits are shown and can be further processed.

To me this honestly makes no sense, since I would expect all digits to be part of the stringā€¦ I do not want to have a ā€œpictureā€ of the excel formatting but the actual data without proactive truncationā€¦