How to calculate second gift rate or second sale rate

Hello community,
I am brand new to KNIME so just baby steps for me. I work for a charity and I wanted to be able to quickly calculate the second gift rate % by calendar year. For example a donor gives their first gift in Jan22 and they after stewardship he/she gives the second gift in March22. We have over 30k donors spanning from early 2000. I have loaded all the giving history so now I’d love to learn to calculate in any given year what is the % of second gift rate and also what is the sweet spot when a donor gives the second gift, after 3, 6, 9 or 12 months. Has anyone done this using KNIME if so please help :slight_smile:

Hello @utajhya and welcome to the KNIME forum

Aiming to provide some advise to your challenge, would be better if you can provide a sample of your data problem or a dummy analogue. Then, people in forum will be predisposed to collaborate by having some data to work with.

And trying to offer you some brainstorming about your use case; I think a first step for your analysis would be to align the data (monthly granularity) to the first gift by donor. This alignment -months from first gift- (M0, M1…) will give you the right reference axis to start your plotting, fit, regressions…

This workflow elaborated for a past forum discussion, and despite the time granularity is based in years; it can give you some insights for the data preparation.

BR

3 Likes

Thanks so much @ gonhaddock, I appreciate coming back to me. Here is how I have the data; one sheet has all the first gift data for each donor and the second sheet has all the subsequent gifts for the same donors.
ID FG Date
1 $10 01/01/2022
2 $5 05/12/2022

Second sheet has all the second and third gifts for the same donors
ID Gift Date
1 $10 03/03/2022
3 $5 01/03/2023
2 $25 01/01/2023